Photo

How integrated/segregated was your college's cafeteria.

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Royal

Royal
  • VibeTribe
  • 11,101 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 12:25 AM

I went to Hobart and William Smith and the white students all ate together and the black students all ate together too.  No mixing.

My friend Kareem had 2 names for the black section, "Little Africa" and "The Back of The Bus"

there were very few Asians, Native Americans, Latinos or Pacific Islanders. Not sure where they ate.

#2 Ginger Snap

Ginger Snap
  • VibeTribe
  • 12,451 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 12:43 AM

I was a commuting student at an all women's college so we were by  by definition segregated, at least by gender. As if I needed the distraction on boys. :lol:

My closest college girlfriend was American Korean and she was very involved with the Asian club and foreign exchange students, and I would often be the driver to bring them in town. Kamakazis and private karaoke rooms were of the highlights of my college social life. I was a sociology major and am fascinated by diversity, so I sought out other color, but honestly there wasn't much to be had at my school. I also happened to be married to someone with profound race issues (which I didn't realize until it was much too late) and he was always afraid I was going to run off with a black man. Fought everytme I went out with his sister and her black friends to the club. So what did I do?  For my big junior year research project I chose as my topic "Interracial interaction in a hip hop nightclub," and chose direct observation as my mode of data collection. "But I have to go to the club tonight, it's for school!"  That paper went to conference and was really very good. One should never underestimate my audacity. 

#3 gregoir

gregoir
  • VibeTribe
  • 25,396 posts
  • LocationAbove The Waves

Posted 18 February 2013 - 12:52 AM

We had a smoking section it was awesome

#4 Ginger Snap

Ginger Snap