Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:13 AM

a good maul?

Posted Image

#2 MeOmYo

MeOmYo
  • VibeTribe
  • 7,293 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:15 AM

I like mine with a Honda engine attached to it.

#3 Eddie Z

Eddie Z
  • VibeTribe
  • 2,905 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:26 AM

I've been looking at maul's myself. I don't have any experience with it. I'd go with the heaviest one you can buy... Home Depot I think sells "Collins" brand. 8.5lbs.

I recently saw somebody with a very heavy steel wedge on a handle.. like nothing I've ever seen before. But he bashed the crap out of some 36" rounds, just to make them light enough to lift into his truck. I haven't seen it anywhere though, but I've been looking.

#4 HABIT

HABIT
  • VibeTribe
  • 2,619 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:37 AM

a friend of mine loves to chop wood, and I recently found out that not all spiked pieces of wood are axe's so I'm new to the whole maul, and he mentioned his was getting a little loose on top of his maul. So I wasn't sure if maul's were the same like name brands or walmarts...

#5 hoagie

hoagie
  • VibeTribe
  • 19,450 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 02:13 AM

Darth Maul was the bestx

#6 MeOmYo

MeOmYo
  • VibeTribe
  • 7,293 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 02:26 AM

Wood handle, not too heavy head. It's more about how you hit it than the maul. Block the wood and give it a few weeks to check, then split it along the checks. I've used fiberglass and metal handles and it just wrecks your hands. For large pieces, I use wedges to make them smaller.

#7 MeOmYo

MeOmYo
  • VibeTribe
  • 7,293 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 02:35 AM

a friend of mine loves to chop wood, and I recently found out that not all spiked pieces of wood are axe's so I'm new to the whole maul, and he mentioned his was getting a little loose on top of his maul. So I wasn't sure if maul's were the same like name brands or walmarts...